A quote I go by

One of the ideas I got for a post was to write a quote you like and why/ what it means to you. So that’s what I’m going to do. In saying that, this is going to be a short post probably, so apologies, but I wanted to write about this quote as I think it’s something that everyone should apply to their lives.

Here it is:

Never let the fear of striking out, keep you from playing the game.

This is something that Babe Ruth said. I have no idea who Babe Ruth is but I came across this quote probably at about 12 years old, when watching the film “A Cinderella Story”. It’s mentioned twice I think in the film, once by “cinderella’s” dad and the second time by “Cinderella” herself when the guitar rips from the wallpaper in the diner and reveals the writing on the wall. 

Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.

I have tried to apply this to my life since I heard it.

Recently I travelled to Australia, on my own I spent seven months there. I was petrified, but I did it and at any point I could have backed out and said no I can’t do it. But I went, I worked out there, I saw some fantastic sites, did some fantastic things. And that’s because I applied this quote to my life. Figuratively I had a fear of striking out, but I still played the game, I still went and I not only survived but I succeeded, I thrived.

Currently I’m applying this to my life again. I’m adopted, and when I turned eighteen I was made aware that if I wanted to I could meet my birth parents. At that time I wasn’t emotionally stable and/or ready to do so. So I said not yet. So in some cases, you can’t apply this quote. But now, at twenty one, I have decided to meet them. I’m shit scared. I might discover something I don’t like, we might not connect like I hope we will, or any other of the hundreds of thoughts that have flitted through my mind the past few weeks. But I’m still going to do it. I know I’ll regret it if I don’t. 

So, learn from me this, don’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game. You’ll only regret it if you do. 

And, if you get a chance, watch the film “A Cinderella Story.” It’s a teen/chick flick/ romcom type thing but it’s super cute and if you happen to be an emotional teenager it’s one you’re totally going to love. 

Peace out ✌🏼️

Leave a Reply

